IOA 2020 Community Connections

Learn & Network from Home

 

This spring and summer IOA will be offering a new series of virtual workshops, forums, and learning sessions to keep the ombuds community connected and to help us learn and grow in ways relevant to this moment.

Offerings will include Sector Meetings, Topic Presentations (short learning opportunities designed to complement IOA's Live Webinar series), as well as Additional Programming to learn from each other. The expanded body of events is being developed by the new Community Connections Task Force, comprised of members from IOA’s Professional Development Committee, Conference Committee, the IOA Board, IOA staff, and the Executive Director. 

Community Connections FAQ

How Can You Participate?

IOA Members
These virtual offerings will be offered free to IOA members with an option to make a monetary contribution to support IOA in providing these programs. Due to the cancelation of the conference, IOA lost a substantial amount of revenue, and we appreciate any support you are able to provide. When you register for Topic Presentations, you decide and pay what you can afford by way of supporting your association. You may also make a voluntary contribution below:

Make a Donation

Non-Member Access
Topic Presentations are open to non-members for $50 per session.

 

Registration links are included below for confirmed Sector Meetings. Registration will open soon for all other meetings.

Having trouble registering for additional sessions? 

If you have already registered for a topic presentation and would like to register for additional topic presentation(s), please email the IOA Office as the registration form will not allow additional submissions at this time. Attempting to complete the form again will result in an error message that "You are ineligible to take this form." If you see this error message, please email the IOA Office with your name and the session(s) you would like to add to your registration. We appreaciate your patience and understanding with this workaround.

 

Please stay tuned for updates!


Facilitated Sector Meetings

IOA Members Only (Free)
Emerging Ombuds Sector Meeting
Finding Your Footing in the Ombuds World
       IOA Member Registration
Wednesday, 6 May
9:00 AM PT, 12:00 PM ET, 4:00 PM GMT
Collateral-Duty Ombuds Sector Meeting
A Panel Discussion of the Challenges and Rewards
      IOA Members Registration
Wednesday, 6 May
11:00 AM PT, 2:00 PM ET, 6:00 PM GMT
Healthcare Sector Ombuds Networking Session
      IOA Member Registration
Thursday, 7 May
9:00 AM PT, 12:00 PM ET, 4:00 PM GMT
Academic Ombuds Sector Meeting
Surviving and Thriving
      IOA Member Registration
Friday, 8 May
11:00 AM PT, 2:00 PM ET, 6:00 PM GMT
International Sector Meeting Option One
      IOA Member Registration
Wednesday, 17 June
6:00 AM PT, 9:00 AM ET, 1:00 PM GMT
International Sector Meeting Option Two
      IOA Member Registration
Wednesday, 17 June or Thursday, 18 June (Asia/Pacific Region)
1:00 PM AEST (Australian Eastern Standard Time)
Corporate Ombuds Sector Meeting
Being a Corporate Ombuds During Uncertain Times
      IOA Member Registration

Tuesday, 23 June
8:00 AM PT, 11:00 AM ET, 3:00 PM GMT
Government Ombuds Sector Webex Meeting
      IOA Member Meeting Information
Wednesday, 29 July
9:00 AM PT, 12:00 PM ET, 4:00 PM GMT

Top

Topic Presentations

Free for IOA members and $50 per session for non-members.

If you have already registered for a topic presentation and would like to register for additional topic presentation(s), please email the IOA Office as the registration form will not allow additional submissions at this time.
Ombudship as Leadership
Mary Bliss Conger
      Register Now
Tuesday, 26 May
11:00 AM PT, 2:00 PM ET, 6:00 PM GMT
CO-OP® PDH: 1 PDH Approved
The Meeting Facilitation Game: Can tactile objects change the dynamic of a difficult conversation or meeting—even online?
Don Greenstein
      Register Now
Thursday, 30 July
8:00 AM PT, 11:00 AM ET, 3:00 PM GMT
CO-OP® PDH: 1 PDH Approved
Presentation TBA Tuesday, 4 August
TBA
CO-OP® PDH: Pending
Dancing in a Global Pandemic
Lauren Marx, Carolyn Esposito, and William (Bill) Maurer
      Register Now    
Tuesday, 18 August
6:00 AM PT, 9:00 AM PT, 1:00 PM GMT
CO-OP® PDH: 1 PDH Approved

Top

Additional Programming

IOA Members Only
Chat with Chuck Howard - Option One
      IOA Member Registration
Tuesday, 19 May
6:00 AM PT, 9:00 AM ET, 1:00 PM GMT
Chat with Chuck Howard - Option Two
      IOA Member Registration
Tuesday, 19 May
9:00 AM PT, 12:00 PM ET, 4:00 PM GMT
Affinity Group Sessions

TBA

Healthcare Ombuds Roundtable
    IOA Member Registration 
Tuesday, 7 July
9:00 AM PT, 12:00 PM ET, 4:00 PM GMT
Pecha Kucha!
      IOA Member Registration
Thursday, 16 July
4:00 PM PT, 7:00 PM ET, 11:00 PM GMT