IOA Board of Directors

Meet the Members of IOA's Leadership Team

The leadership of IOA consists of a 15-member volunteer Board of Directors elected by the membership, Committees and Task Forces composed of volunteer members with chairs appointed by the Board, and other strategic IOA initiatives comprised of member volunteers who have expertise and passion for specific areas of practice.

The intent of IOA's leadership is to ensure integrity and transparency in all facets of leadership and management of the Association, to foster communication and information sharing among all components of the Association's leadership, and to foster and promote opportunities for the membership to be informed and engaged in the work of the Association.

If you would like to contact a member of the Board of Directors or a committee chair, send an email to IOA Headquarters, who will forward your message. IOA members can use the member directory to contact leadership directly.

Meetings & Board Updates

The Board of Directors generally meets monthly on the first Wednesday of each month. Updates and announcements from the Board are frequently shared in IOA's blog, The Independent Voice, in bi-weekly Hey IOA emails sent to members, and/or posted on the Board Updates page for members to view.

IOA Officers


Sarah Klaper, JD
Northwestern University
Evanston, IL, United States
Officer Term: 2024–2025
Board Term: 2023-2026



Jennifer Mahony, JD
Boston Children's Hospital
Boston, MA, United States
Officer Term: 2024-2025
Board Term: 2021–2026

Lily Xu, CO-OP


Lily Xu, MBA, CO-OP®
Raytheon Technologies
NC, United States
Term: 2024-2025



Wayne Francis Marriott, MA, CO-OP®
Auckland University of Technology
Christchurch, New Zealand
Officer Term: 2024-2025
Board Term: 2022–2025

Alicia Booker

Immediate Past-President

Alicia Booker, PhD, CO-OP®
Baylor College of Medicine
Houston, TX, United States
Officer Term: 2024-2025

Board Term: 2022-2025

IOA Directors

Amanda Dean, MS
Austin Community College
Austin, TX, United States
Term: 2022-2025

Hector Escalante Hector Escalante Meza, EdD, MFA
University of California Merced and Earthjustice
Stockton, CA, United States
Term: 2023–2026

Amarah Khan, PhD, CO-OP®
City of Seattle
Seattle, WA, United States

Term: 2023-2026

Marisa D. Mason Smith, MS, PHR, SHRM - SCP, SPHR
People's First International
Nassau, Bahamas
Term: 2024-2027

Julie A. Muroff, JD, LLM, PCC, CO-OP®
Howard Hughes Medical Institute/Janelia Research Campus
Ashburn, VA, United States
Term: 2024-2027

Youssoupha Niang, MD, PhD, LMHC, PT
Geneva, Switzerland
Term: 2023-2026
Bina Patel, PhD, MBA, CO-OP®
Department of Defense
Sykesville, MD, United States
Term: 2023-2026
Mark Patterson Mark Patterson, JD, LLM
California State University Channel Islands
Camarillo, CA United States
Term: 2022-2025

Jacqueline Villafane, PhD, CO-OP®
Infinidad Consulting LLC
Washington DC, United States
Term: 2024-2027


Lisa C. Yamagata-Lynch, PhD, CO-OP®
University of Tennessee
Knoxville, TN, United States
Term: 2024-2027

IOA Executive Director
Ellen Miller

Ellen Miller

Contact Ellen: [email protected]

Learn More