About the CO-OP® Credential & Other Levels of Designation

The Board of Certification for Certified Organizational Ombuds Practitioners (CO-OP®) offers three levels of designation: CO-OP®, Candidate for CO-OP®, and Inactive CO-OP®. Learn more about each level by watching our quick intro video below.

Are you looking for information about the CO-OP® Examination? Visit the Exam Page for more details about how the exam works, as well as the dates for any upcoming exams.

CO-OP® Exam Information

Levels of CO-OP® Recognition

These CO-OP® Levels Help You:

  • Gain Recognition: Enhance your credibility and professional standing with the organization(s) that you serve
  • Invest in Your Career: Demonstrate your professional knowledge and skills to build your career development opportunities
  • Show Commitment: Accentuate your dedication to the profession and the IOA Standards of Practice and Code of Ethics
  • Distinguish Yourself: Stand out by joining an elite community of professionals
  • Strengthen and Professionalize the Organizational Ombuds field 

How to Earn & Maintain One of the Three Levels of Recognition:

STEP 1: 

Register to take the CO-OP® Examination. Pass the exam with a score of 405 or higher.

STEP 2: 

Apply to become a Certified Organizational Ombuds Practitioner®. If you are able to fulfill the Standards of Practice and Code of Ethics requirements for full recognition submit your application after taking the exam. 


Apply to become a Candidate for CO-OP®. This level allows ombuds who are unable to fulfill the Standards of Practice and Code of Ethics requirements due to organizational limitations to receive a new level of recognition.

STEP 3: 

Maintain your certification. To maintain you must complete the CO-OP® recertification process every four years.


Apply for Inactive CO-OP® Status. If you have previously held the CO-OP® credential and are no longer able to meet the requirements of CO-OP® credential you can move to Inactive CO-OP® Status. This will allow you to hold your state and not need to start the process over from the beginning if they later want to recertify.

Next Steps

Learn About the CO-OP® Exam
Apply to Become a Candidate for CO-OP®
Renew as a Candidate for CO-OP®
Apply for the CO-OP® Designation
Recertification for the CO-OP® Designation
Move to Inactive CO-OP® Status

More About CO-OP®

CO-OP® Board of Directors
Board Policies
Review the CO-OP® FAQ Page